First International Electroacoustic Composition Competition Iannis Xenakis 2016

In an attempt to encourage the creation and diffusion of new electroacoustic works, Contemporary Music Lab of Aristotle University is organizing the first International Electroacoustic Composition Competition Iannis Xenakis.


-The competition is anonymous and open to composers of any nationality and age, each of whom may submit only one work, not commercially published or awarded a prize in any other competition.

-The works submitted for the competition shall be acousmatic compositions. They are meant to be diffused by loudspeakers in concert, without any intervention of live sound sources. They might implement a maximum of 8 channels and must have a duration between 7 and 15 minutes.

-All applications must be sent via (or equivalent web file transfer service) in a single ZIP file to the email: [please write in the subject of the email Xenakis Competition 2016).

-Please name the ZIP file as following: IX2016_Name_Surname_TitleOfThePiece (e.g. IX2016_Nick_Edison_Title).

-The ZIP file should contain 3 files inside a single folder:

i. A short biography, contact information, as well as information about the piece in the following formats: (.doc, .txt, .rtf or .pdf).

ii. 1 Audio file (.aiff or .wav format, 16bit or 24bit at 44,1kHz sampling rate) containing the stereo version of the piece.

iii. Additionally, for multichannel pieces the audio files corresponding to each of the channels inside a separate folder.


The deadline for submissions is 31 December 2016.


The Jury will select and mention the 5 highest quality works and will award three of them with prizes of €600 €400 €300 respectively. Contemporary Music Lab will present the distincted pieces in a concert in March 2017.

The files entered in the competition shall remain in the archives of Contemporary Music Lab of Aristotle University of Thessaloniki.

The entry fee for participation is 15€. You can use the following links to pay on-line.
[Greek Citizens payment] [Non-Greek Citizens payment]

Alternatively you can wire transfer to the following bank account: Eidikos Logariasmos Kondilion Erevnas A.P.TH. KE.D.E.A. – Tritis Septemvriou University Campus GR 54636 Thessaloniki Greece. IBAN: GR98 0172 2020 0052 0200 2079 933. BIC Code: PIRBGRAΑ. (please send us a receipt of payment along with your submission).

By entering his/her work in the competition, the composer consents to public performances free of charge of his/her work in concerts and/or radio broadcasting.

The composer retains the copyright of his/her work.


Denis Smalley (UK) – Chair
Ambrose Field (UK)
Panagiotis Kokoras (USA/GR)
Elaine Lillios (USA)
Germán Toro-Perez (CH)

Aristotle University of Thessaloniki – Contemporary Music Lab